Pumpkin Pie baked in Spice Cake

Hi Friends!

I again am apologetic for my abnormally long hiatus.

I had to share this with you, though! I couldn’t decide whether I wanted spice cake or pumpkin pie for dessert this Thanksgiving. Then it dawned on me. Combine them!

This, my friends, is a pumpkin pie baked inside of a cake. Iced and ready to go. I’m not kidding.

The directions are very easy:

Bake your favourite recipe of pie (or buy a store-bought!)

Mix your favourite spice-cake (or any kind of cake you think will taste good!).

Place pie (remember to take the pie plate off!!) inside of a larger baking dish. Pour the batter around and over the pie, and bake as directed. The pie filling for me thinned out when I took it out of the oven, so I froze it overnight, turned the cake out and frosted it frozen. Then I kept it in the fridge and served cold.

The great thing about these new recipes is always the test run :P

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

(Pie-in-cake front and centre. To the left: cupcakes! use an apple corer to pull small sections out of the pie and place inside lined cupcake tins. To the right: white cake filled with Girl Guide mint chocolate cookies (baked in a bundt pan, topped with chocolate frosting and more cookies.)

